Two Oxford School of Drama students awarded Laurence Olivier Bursaries

Two third-year students from The Oxford School of Drama have been awarded bursaries by the Society of London Theatre (SOLT).

Ruby and Shaofan together

Ruby Crepin-Glyne and Shaofan Wilson fought off competition from drama schools across the UK to win the bursaries. They were auditioned on a West End stage and interviewed by a panel of theatre industry professionals, led by West End producer and Chair of the Laurence Olivier Bursaries Committee, Lee Menzies. This year’s auditions took place at St Martin’s Theatre. Sixteen bursaries were formally presented during a ceremony at the SOLT offices on 20 September, two of which went to The Oxford School of Drama students.

Established by SOLT in 1987 to mark the 80th birthday of Lord Olivier, the Laurence Olivier Bursaries aim to provide financial support to exceptional students entering their final year of drama school and facing financial difficulties which might jeopardize their studies.

Previous bursary winners have included Denise Gough, Bryony Hannah, Paterson Joseph, Ewan McGregor, Daniel Rigby, Vinette Robinson, Juma Sharkah, Michaela Coel and Michael Sheen.

Ruby Crepin-Glyne won a Laurence Olivier Bursary donated by Society of London Theatre.

Shaofan Wilson won a Behrens Foundation Bursary given in conjunction with the Laurence Olivier Bursary, donated by The Behrens Foundation.